2. Four Samhitas

The Four Samhitas are the four main categories of Vedic texts

Rigveda: You will learn about the Rigveda, which is the oldest and most important Samhita. It contains hymns and prayers addressed to various gods and goddesses, and it is considered to be the foundation of Indian spirituality and philosophy.

Yajurveda: You will explore the Yajurveda, which contains instructions and rituals related to sacrificial offerings and worship. It is an essential text for understanding the Vedic way of life and its practices.

Samaveda: You will learn about the Samaveda, which is a collection of melodies and chants that are used in Vedic rituals and worship. It is considered to be the source of Indian classical music and its theory.

Atharvaveda: You will delve into the Atharvaveda, which contains hymns and spells used for healing and protection. It is considered to be the Veda of practical life, and it offers insights into everyday problems and solutions.

The Rigveda is said to have originated from the mouth of Lord Brahma, the Yajurveda from his arms, the Samaveda from his chest, and the Atharvaveda from his feet

Each Veda is considered to have a specific purpose and focus, with the Rigveda being focused on hymns and devotional poetry, the Yajurveda on ritual sacrifice and ceremonies, the Samaveda on music and singing, and the Atharvaveda on practical knowledge and daily life.

In the Satya yuga, there were only 3 Vedas.

Rig-Veda is a collection of many hymns, mostly devoted to praising Gods, and has hymns for sacrificial rituals.

Sama Veda is the Veda for music( melody and chants )

Yajur-Veda is a collection of prose mantras, which means it has the procedure to perform any rituals like Yagnas.

At the end of Satya Yuga, the 4th Veda was in the form of Cosmic energy in the Sky. And an Asura out of His powers, could read the Veda.

That asura was born as Sage Atharva in his next birth , and because of his good virtue, penned down the 4th Veda, and requested Shiva to go through the writings and give authenticity.

Atharva-Veda tells about the musculo skeletal system of our body. (It deals with the medicines for various diseases)

Shiva felt that the 3 Vedas cover Music, yagna rituals, and mantras to connect to God. But before that, a human being needs good health to stay fit and to accomplish anything in his life. So, knowing about the physical structure of the body and maintaining it from the risk of diseases is the prior importance.

So, God Shiva gave the authenticity to the Veda and named it after the sage, as Atharva Veda.

Each Veda is further divided into four sections: 

the Samhitas[ benedictions, prayers, mantras]

The Samhitas are the most ancient part of each Veda and contain hymns and prayers.

the Brahmanas [commentaries on said rituals]

The Brahmanas are commentaries on the Samhitas and contain instructions for ritual practices.

the Aranyakas [rituals, observances]

The Aranyakas are texts that were written for ascetics who lived in the forest,

the Upanishads[philosophical narratives and dialogues]

the Upanishads are philosophical texts that contain teachings on the nature of reality and the self.

The Rig Veda sets the standard and tone which is developed by the Sama Veda and Yajur Veda while the last work, Atharva Veda.

The Vedas, and especially the Upanishads, are considered the foundational texts of Sanatana Dharma, which is also known as Hinduism. These texts provide guidance and direction for followers of the religion and shape their understanding of the nature of reality, the purpose of life, and the ultimate goal of existence.

One of the key concepts that emerged from the Upanishads is the idea of Brahman, which is often described as the ultimate reality or the absolute consciousness. According to this understanding, Brahman is not just a creator but the very essence of existence itself, and everything in the universe is a manifestation of Brahman.

This understanding of Brahman has profound implications for the way in which adherents of Sanatana Dharma approach life and the world around them. It suggests that the ultimate goal of existence is to realize the unity of all things and to experience a direct connection with the divine. This can be achieved through various spiritual practices, such as meditation, yoga, and devotion to a particular deity.

Overall, the Vedas and the Upanishads have played a crucial role in shaping the beliefs and practices of Sanatana Dharma and continue to be a source of inspiration and guidance for millions of people around the world.

Source : https://www.worldhistory.org/The_Vedas/


Old scriptures of Hinduism. 

Vedic Astrology(Jyotish Shastra ) 

Hindu system of astrology


Upavedas mean applied the knowledge

Sanatan Dharma



Brahma, Vishnu, and Shiva are three major deities in Hinduism, known as the Trimurti. 


Brahma is the creator God 


Vishnu is the preserver God  


Shiva is the destroyer God 

World Oldest scriptures is Vedas (Out of 4 Vedas,  The Rigveda is oldest, dated 1500 BCE )

Religious Book

Religious Image/Video

Ayurveda & Home Remedies